PDA

View Full Version : CA95 stock exhaust

Ironhead Dave
07-15-2009, 06:32 AM
I'm new to the CA95, purchasing my first one two days ago. I've heard that you should run stock mufflers on them or you risk burning valves. Mine has some short megaphone mufflers on it.

Is this true? Should I get some new mufflers or will these be o.k.?

Thanks.

Smithers
07-15-2009, 07:08 AM
Hey Dave congrats on the new bike. I hope you are able to ride it this summer - and don't have to work on it too much. Although working on these bikes is enjoyable of course. I've never heard of mufflers causing burnt valves. You don't have anything to worry about. How you maintain and operate your engine is much much more important. Bad/ low oil and over revving the engine will surely contribute to ruining valves.

I could see how this misconception about muffler lengths might come about. The typical motorcycle owner that puts aftermarket exhaust on their bike tends to ride a bike faster (hence ruining the valves) =] and the CA95 isn't fast to begin with!

Ironhead Dave
07-15-2009, 07:13 AM
Hey Dave congrats on the new bike. I hope you are able to ride it this summer - and don't have to work on it too much. Although working on these bikes is enjoyable of course. I've never heard of mufflers causing burnt valves. You don't have anything to worry about. How you maintain and operate your engine is much much more important. Bad/ low oil and over revving the engine will surely contribute to ruining valves.

I could see how this misconception about muffler lengths might come about. The typical motorcycle owner that puts aftermarket exhaust on their bike tends to ride a bike faster (hence ruining the valves) =] and the CA95 isn't fast to begin with!

Thanks Smithers! Everyone keeps talking about back pressures on old Hondas so I wanted to be sure.