FourWheelForum  

Go Back   FourWheelForum > Motorcycles & Streetbikes! > The Honda CA95 / Benly 150 Restoration

The Honda CA95 / Benly 150 Restoration The little brother to the CA160 in our family of Hondas

Unread 10-20-2011, 10:00 AM

Default coil

bike wasn't starting (after putting 4000 miles on it this year and having a riot). Like an idiot, messed with the carb without really knowing what I was doing. Turns out the throttle wire was caught up and I was flooding it, but then realized that I should have started with the plugs. Plugs were fried. Changed plugs, still no luck. Spark, but it seemed weak to me.
Went to points. they were pretty rough, so I have some new ones on way today or tomorrow. figured I should check coil while I was at it. It doesn't have any wax drippings on it.
I am new with a multimeter, but tested it from black wire going in to green wire coming out (think this is right). Reading is right around 1 ohm. From reading the forums, this probably means it is bad, right? Is it correct that this reading should be between 2 and 3 ohms?
Any help would be appreciated. Its been weeks since I've ridden and it's driving me crazy.
Unread 10-20-2011, 03:52 PM

The ohm reading should be in the 1.5 - 2.5 range as a rule of thumb...but don't change coils at this point. Change the points as planned. Make sure that the green wire that connects to the points has not grounded itself to the engine case. Squirt some starting fluid into the cylinders and reinstall the plugs. She should "pop" or start.

A healthy spark in these old bikes appears weak.
Unread 10-20-2011, 07:03 PM

Thanks. Will do. points here tomorrow. Keeping fingers crossed
Unread 10-28-2011, 05:02 PM

New points correctly gapped. Spark looks stronger. Sprayed starter fluid into cylinders. Nothing immediately but a backfire when it was winding down. Checking tappets this weekend and searching for the timing threads. Someone said a backfire is a sure sign of bad timing.