FourWheelForum

FourWheelForum (http://www.fourwheelforum.com/index.php)
-   Honda Dream CA160 (http://www.fourwheelforum.com/forumdisplay.php?f=23)
-   -   1969 Honda CA 160 Restoration (http://www.fourwheelforum.com/showthread.php?t=1473)

JasonandMichell 08-01-2011 01:48 PM

1969 Honda CA 160 Restoration

All,

Ok, so I'm new to this. Posting and restoration, for that matter. Here's a bit about me and what I'm trying to do. I'm 27, and have been a motorcycle enthusiast for about 9 years (wasn't allowed to ride until college). I love tinkering, and am a mechanical engineer by degree. I love the look of the old Hondas and have found a 1969 CA160 for $650. I plan on restoring/fixing it, but I don't have the slightest clue where to start. I thought the forum was a great place to look.

I plan on purchasing it this weekend (already looked at it once). Anything I need to keep in mind when negotiating/asking about it? I'm pretty excited, but I want people who have been here before to give me some tips/tricks before I get started.

Thoughts, anyone?

Spokes 08-01-2011 07:13 PM

The 1969 CA160 was the last year this model was made. The CA160 is a pretty strong bike, but not for the freeway. One of the reasons the stamped frame Honda's were discontinued was due to instability at high speeds. BUT, the stamped frame Honda's like the CA160, CA95, CA77, CA72 are becoming collectors items.

Expect to do some repairs on the bike your looking at.

Check for rust at the battery holder (under the right side cover). Make sure there is no major rust holes.

Check for cracks in the frame at the engine mounts. yes: Bike needs to be torn down and cracks welded by a pro. Consider walking away from the deal.
Check the inside of the tank for rust. yes: The bike will need the tank cleaned.